Developing Sketches

After deciding to develop my sketches further on Photoshop, I experimented with angles and perspectives at which to present my piece. I drew inspiration from all of my thumbnails and sketches – namely the middle right thumbnail as that was my favourite of the batch. All of the lines are drawn in red against the black book guidelines.


cover 1

This piece has a high horizon line and vanishing points right at the edge of the page. This means that this appears to be a very aerial view, which is too far away to really hold much detail. This would not be a very effective piece to use.


cover 2

This piece has a slightly lower horizon line, with one vanishing point a quarter of the way across the line, and the other vanishing point going off the page. This too is an aerial perspective, and while I think it looks better than the first one, it is still far from being something I want to work with. I added some colour and buildings to this one to try and bring it to life a bit, but the angle just didn’t seem right to me.


cover 3

This piece has a much lower horizon line, giving the appearance of looking up at the globe. I think this angle is much more appealing, however, the vanishing points do not hit the edges of the pages, and I think it might look more effective if they did. Additionally, the globe looks too small, perhaps some of the top should be cut off to further emphasise how big it is; too big to fit on the page.


cover 4

In this piece, the horizon line has been raised slightly higher than the previous version, and the vanishing points are on the edges of each page. I have also made the Globe significantly larger, so that it appears to be as big as I imagine it would be. This is my favourite development of the lot, so I have decided to take this further and build my whole scene around it. This basic outline will serve as a great base to work around.

Leave a Reply

