Thumbnails and Sketches

I am very new to the concept of book cover design, so using my measurements I started roughing out the proportions of the cover and sketching out some ideas of how to lay out the cover. I knew that I wanted the Distracted Globe and the intersection to feature on the front cover of the book as they are focal points of the piece of text I chose, so I stuck to that idea and built others around it.

scan-0001 (1)

After spending about 2 minutes on each of the thumbnails above, I used the template I created to develop the middle-right image.

scan-0001 (3)

While creating this developed image really helped me to understand how I wanted to lay out my piece, the proportions in it are very wrong. The globe is too high-up and it is far too small, the car is too big, the buildings are too small, amongst other things. In light of this, I will be taking my experiments to photoshop so I can easily alter the size and dimensions of things without having to erase them completely before drawing them again. I feel as though doing this will save me time, and help me to produce some better visuals with more accurate proportions.

Leave a Reply

