Another Change of Plan

Today, I had a meeting with my pathway leader Jake to discuss my project. I explained all of my ideas, solved problems, and progress to him and asked for some feedback on what I could do next. He suggested to me that I don’t try and do covers for 3 books, but that I just do a cover for Ready Player One.

This would mean that I can focus all of my energy into one book, and the outcome of the covers would be entirely from my own mind. The two other books I was planning on making covers for (Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter) are hugely popular all around the world, and already have movies made about every single book. Having read all the books and seen all of the movies, my own depictions of the places in the books would be influenced – by accident or purposefully – by the movie sets.

However, Ready Player One is currently being made into a motion picture, set to release in 2017. This means that the places I am going to be drawing don’t exist in a movie set yet – the only other depictions of them are fanart. Therefore, the outcomes I produce from pulling apart the text will be almost entirely my own. This means my work will be much more original to me, it will challenge me more in the process of designing the places, and I can complete one very high-quality book cover instead of 3 potentially rushed ones.

Leave a Reply

